A Time for Everything

Standard

Today is my last day on Young Life staff. I wanted to share a few reflections…

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace a time and a time to refrain from embracing, a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace. – Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

This verse rings so true and boldly in my life at this time. When there are transitions and changes ahead, I am comforted by it. These three ring especially loud in this moment:

…a time to plant and a time to uproot…

I have been so blessed to call Seattle home the last 6 years. (I can barely wrap my head around how quickly it flew by.) Six years of a strong community, never ending city explorations, and endless discoveries of the truth that surrounds me: God has me right where He wants me for a specific reason.
It’s at this time that I am switching gears — a new adventure awaits! The planting I’ve done here in Seattle will slowly become uprooted as I move to a new city, where new planting will occur. Even with unknowns and variables galore, planting season is coming again, soon. The uproot process must happen before the planting can begin again fresh.

…a time to tear down and a time to build…

Just as there is a time to plant and a time to uproot, so is there a time for tearing down and building. There have been times these past few months that I have experienced both challenges and celebrations in the ‘tear down’ time; in ways this process will continue even as the building process begins. Rebuilding comes both with comparisons and expectations which can taint the healthfulness and movement to build in the first place. I am hopeful that the building processes of community, purpose, and identity are refreshing and renewing.

…a time to weep and a time to laugh…

I foresee the next few months to be filled with both of these things: weeping and laughing. Leaving a role I am convinced I was made for is tough.  Moving away from a place where I have found freedom, adventure, and friends of a lifetime is something I never thought I would do. In weeping, though, there is also laughter and I look forward to rich time with dear friends this next month in Seattle. It will be a sweet time, I am confident.

I never thought I would have the opportunities that I did this year during my time on Young Life staff. I have learned more about myself this year than any other year. And as I approach the beginning of my 26th year of life, I am thrilled to embark on this journey ahead, experience God in new ways, and walk through the open doors He has already perfectly placed.

Thank you for walking along with me in this journey this past year.

Jenica

Leave a comment